https://pantsbuild.org/ logo
#development
Title
# development
b

broad-processor-92400

02/20/2023, 10:56 PM
When I request PR reviews, knowing very little about who's got relevant knowledge where, I'm assuming Github's suggested reviewers are an acceptable start?
e

enough-analyst-54434

02/20/2023, 11:08 PM
Yeah, I assume it uses git blame. I think it's naive though and will suggest a recent editor of similar file even if the edit was surface; so digging deeper on blame is one way to find someone who either knows the meat or was wrangling it anyhow.
b

bitter-ability-32190

02/20/2023, 11:57 PM
If you wanted to push for CODEOWNERS I'd +1. We could use "teams" so we aren't assigning people. A "team" could be "rustaceans" or "pythonistas" and be self-service
b

broad-processor-92400

02/21/2023, 2:32 AM
Thanks I won't be be proposing things like CODEOWNERS (not yet, anyway), but it'd certainly be a nice way to help contributors
b

busy-vase-39202

02/21/2023, 5:53 PM
@bitter-ability-32190 that sounds like a good conversation to initiate. We've grown the team a lot in the past 18-24 months, and now that we have, it's appropriate to discuss options for managing that growth well.
@broad-processor-92400 for Rust, @witty-crayon-22786 is probably the best person to call on. Also @hundreds-father-404 would normally be another good choice, but is pretty busy for the next month or two.
The team page can also give some hints in general of what folks feel particularly keenly about. https://www.pantsbuild.org/docs/team
h

hundreds-father-404

02/21/2023, 6:07 PM
I've had better work life balance at IBM than expected, so I'm more available than I expected for review that relates to my experience 🙂 (e.g. Target API and Rules API, Rust, Python backend, the new "environments" thing) And I'd love to see Pants get Windows support so I can add it to Qiskit (IBM's open source quantum computing libraries), so anything that moves the ball forward there
b

busy-vase-39202

02/21/2023, 6:28 PM
Hey, would IBM like to sponsor adding Windows support??
h

hundreds-father-404

02/21/2023, 10:51 PM
That will take me much more political capital than I have only 2.5 weeks in hah. Some teams are interested in Bazel too, apparently. (I've pointed a dev tangentially related to that discussion to Josh's blog 🙂 )
b

bitter-ability-32190

02/21/2023, 10:55 PM
Oh huh also just point them to me lol
2
b

busy-vase-39202

02/22/2023, 3:52 PM
Go git 'em, Josh!
3 Views